Forums » Electrical Engineering

Electrical panel board

• 3 posts
    April 14, 2019 10:17 AM PDT

Hello everybody,

We moved to an old house, which needs renovation. Before hiring an electrician, I would like to know the electrical configuration of the house and know if my renovation plan is acceptable.

The plan:

I would like to replace the electrical panel board which feeds kitchen and one part of under ground floor with a new panel boards MCB, RCBs and to increase the circuit breakers over 20 A.

After installation, I would like to add more circuits to the new panel boards.

The first step is to replace and add circuits that controls the first floor lights and sockets

There will then be a circiut breaker to feed the rest circuits and the relay system should be removed.

I am not an electrician but I have a certain understanding of the profession.

• 15 posts
    April 14, 2019 10:37 AM PDT

I would replace the 2 panel on the left side of the photo. They seem to be out of date. You can get a 48 position panel for

48 breaker and circuits. The panel on the right seems to be a newer panel.

• 65 posts
    April 14, 2019 10:43 AM PDT

The question is what should be new and what will remain

• 200 posts
    April 15, 2019 4:55 AM PDT
    Prakash, namaste, I usally don't answer questions I was not invited for (suggested by the Author), so I beg your pardon if I do so now. For the sake of SAFETY, I am attending to a David Welson suggestion to reply here. Thanks, David.

Let's see your points:
    - "old house, which needs renovation...";
    - "new panel boards MCB, RCBs and to increase the circuit breakers over 20 A...";
    - "After installation, I would like to add more circuits to the new panel boards...";
    - "replace and add circuits that controls the first floor lights and sockets...";

And not a single word about the CONDUCTORS, wiring, cables, etc.